About Me

Auctions | Donate | Blank page | * | About Me | Favorite Links | Contact Me

I entered this world in the year of 1936 in the small dairy town of Harvey in the South West of Western Australia, as my father was a mill carpenter we moved around the state quite a bit until he gained permanent employ in the mill town of Nannup, this is where i started my schooling, eventually the family moved to the city of Perth, this is where i first became involved with pigeons,
I met a lovely English lass who was only thirteen years old, i was sixteen when we met, five years later we married, Janet migrated from Westbury on Trym near Bristol in England.
Even in my younger years i found it difficult not to get involved in comunity affairs, i became a councilor on the Stirling city Council, a member of the state council for a particular political party i also stood for parliment for that same party missing a seat by just over 100 votes, i was also a delegate to the trades and labour council, in between all this we managed to have four lovely daughters, who have made us the proud grandparents of 10 grandchildren. 
There was also my involvement in several sporting bodies, i played cricket, Australian rules football and basketball, in the latter two i also coached teams for a number of years, i now play lawn bowls where i am an accredited nationl umpire and coach. 
After a heart attack in the early seventys, it was decided that we should move to a much quite location so Denmark on the south coast was the chosen town we have been here now for over twenty five years  
Des Moore